Today the “news” announced that 26 years olds (up from 23) can now be insured on their parents’ corporate insurance plans as of today. My daughter is 24. She can get back on my plan. Except my company plan has to have it’s annual “enrollment period” which lasts for 4 months. So I can enroll her now but she can’t be insured until January and that will only last for another year and a half. Meanwhile our rates have gone up 17%. For many they have gone up well over 30%.

But I want to let all the corporate insurance companies out there know how much I appreciate their compliance with the law to allow my daughter to have health care for another 18 months. After all, we all owe our very existence to the corporate insurance industry. It is only by their willingness to let us pay outlandish premiums that we may live yet another day, at least until we actually do get sick and they deny coverage.

We must all pull together and do whatever we can to make sure the insurance industry continues to make its record profits for shareholders. These people need jobs. God knows they aren’t capable of doing anything productive for society. It’s a small price to pay that so many will die (45,000 annually – 15 times 9/11) so that so few may live so lavishly. The few, the proud, the greedy, the  shameful – the U.S. health insurance industry. Be proud and stand up for who you are.

